An attypical smoked single malt of 3 years.

Grown ripe in wooden barrels that also used to contain port and cognac.

“MALTAGE THE OLD WAY AND POT STILL DISTILLATION”

Like our other products, our single malt August 17th is distilled in collaboration with a childhood friend of Thierry Van Renterghem, who owns a distillery in Cognac. Thierry visits the distillery several times a year to partake in the process. Beforehand, the barley is harvested in the fields owned by the distillery and the malting takes place on site, according the old tradition. The distillation is done pot still of high quality.

“AGING UNDER PERFECT CONDITIONS”

Aging is the most important step in the process of making whiskey. This is the reason why the quality of our barrels, as well as their preservation conditions is our priority. We only choose oak barrels from 35 years or older, some are even older than 100 years. They are extremely well preserved and previously contained Porto and Cognac. Once filled, they are stored in vaulted cellars under optimum conditions.

“HOMMAGE TO AN EMPEROR”

The head represented on our bottle is that of August 1st, the first Roman emperor. The picture has been painted by Thierry Van Renterghem himself when he worked at the Louvre. But “August 17th” is also a tribute to the Belgian “emperor” of whisky: Michel Couvreur. This great specialist and bottler of whisky, died on August 17, 2013.

“CRUDE SOFTNESS”

August 17th Brutus: a magnificent single cask brut of 5 years of age. It is August 17th’s big brother in a limited edition. Indeed, we produce one barrel a year. This year it reaches 48.1% and will enchant the biggest single malt fans.

“OUR SALONS AND TASTINGS”

 

TO VISIT THIS SITE YOU MUST BE OF LEGAL DRINKING AGE
IN THE COUNTRY YOU LIVE IN.

DISTAL ENDORSES RESPONSIBLE AND MODERATE DRINKING.
BY CLICKING THE BUTTONS « ACCEPT » YOU AGREE TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS FOUND HERE.
ABUSE OF ALCOHOL IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH.
CONSUME WITH MODERATION.

Un single malt 3 ans d’âge atypique aux notes fumées.

Il est vieilli dans des fûts très anciens ayant contenu du Porto et du Cognac.

« MALTAGE À L’ANCIENNE ET DISTILLATION EN POT STILL »

Comme nos autres produits, notre single malt August 17th est distillé en collaboration avec un ami d’enfance de Thierry Van Renterghem, qui possède sa distillerie à Cognac. Thierry s’y rend plusieurs fois par an afin de participer au processus de distillation. Au préalable, l’orge est récolté dans les champs propres à la distillerie et le maltage s’effectue sur place, dans la tradition la plus ancienne. La distillation se fait en pot still de grande qualité.

« UN VIEILLISSEMENT DANS DES CONDITIONS IDÉALES »

Le vieillissement est l’étape la plus importante de la confection d’un whisky. C’est pourquoi nous mettons une priorité sur la qualité de nos fûts ainsi que de leurs conditions de conservation. Nous avons choisi uniquement des fûts de chêne ayant entre 35 et plus de 100 ans, extrêmement bien conservés et qui ont contenu du Porto et du Cognac auparavant. Une fois remplis, ils sont entreposés dans des caves voûtées dans lesquelles les conditions optimales sont réunies.

« L’HOMMAGE À UN EMPEREUR »

La tête qui est représentée sur notre bouteille, est celle d’August 1er, le premier empereur romain. Celle-ci provient d’une peinture que Thierry Van Renterghem a réalisé lui-même lors de son passage au célèbre musée du Louvre. Mais « August 17th » est aussi un hommage à un « empereur » belge du whisky : Michel Couvreur. Ce grand spécialiste et embouteilleur de whisky, décédé le 17 août 2013.

« LA DOUCEUR À L’ÉTAT BRUT »

August 17th Brutus : un magnifique single cask brut de fût 5 ans d’âge. C’est le grand frère de l’August 17th en édition ultra limitée. En effet, on en sort qu’un fût par an. Cette année il titre à 48,1 % et ravira les plus grands amateurs de single malt.

« NOS SALONS ET DÉGUSTATIONS »

 

TO VISIT THIS SITE YOU MUST BE OF LEGAL DRINKING AGE
IN THE COUNTRY YOU LIVE IN.

DISTAL ENDORSES RESPONSIBLE AND MODERATE DRINKING.
BY CLICKING THE BUTTONS « ACCEPT » YOU AGREE TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS FOUND HERE.
ABUSE OF ALCOHOL IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH.
CONSUME WITH MODERATION.